Jan 8, 2020
Not only does this storied stay hit all the marks, but it is also the only seafront hotel in George Town.
Established by the famed Sarkies brothers in 1885, whose architectural landmarks include the Raffles Hotel in Singapore, the storied Eastern & Oriental Hotel is the only seafront hotel in the George Town UNESCO World Heritage Site. Over its 135-year history, the E&O Hotel has played host to some of the world’s most celebrated artists, writers and heads of state.
Back in 2013, the E&O unveiled its 15-story Victory Annexe with 132 quintessentially appointed sea-fronting suites, complemented by restaurants, meeting rooms, a swish infinity swimming pool and a spa by Panpuri. Plus, they’ve introduced a few niche retail outlets that boast both local and international products.
And with the recently relaunched Heritage Wing, the E&O is poised to reprise its role as a leading destination for timeless hospitality. A stay in one of the newly refurbished suites is a trip back through time with round-the-clock butler service and modern comforts that keep with the classic style of the Penang icon.
The Hotel’s food and beverage outlets —Palm Court, Java Tree, Sarkies and Planters Lounge— already have a celebrated reputation for serving an extensive menu ranging from Penang’s heritage dishes to a traditional English afternoon tea and Sunday roast, whilst Farquhar’s Bar is the place to be for time-honored bar staples. The E&O’s stately Grand Ballroom honors the era of debutante’s balls and black-tie dinner dances.
Documenting the many stories of guests is the E&O Gallery, within the Victory Annexe retail arcade. This specially curated museum relates the story of Penang’s social and cultural milestones as seen through the eyes of the E&O and its patrons.
The luxurious all-suite hotel stands as one of the region’s most iconic heritage hotels, its arches and facades form natural frames for the long seafront sweep of lawn that greets the Andaman Sea. With cannons from the original Fort Cornwallis, Penang’s historical icon has stayed picture perfect since 1885.